Fresh Out of the Dryer

I suppose we’re due for a bit of an introduction first. I’m Michael; nice to meet ya. Welcome to the new digs. As long as I can type I plan on keeping a journal here of everything that lightens up my life. I don’t believe in a perfect world, but I do think that whenever you see or hear of something that makes your heart ache, there’s always something else less than a step away that will bring you back up again and bring a smile to your face if you let it.

To clear something up right off the bat, I’ve never liked the idea of self-help books. It seems to me that it’s the author who gets the spotlight. I don’t know what makes me think that, but it’s a notion I’ve held for as long as I can remember. I’ll do all I can to set this apart from those.

I could talk about what’s on the news today–war, corruption, money–but I could just as easily talk about simple joys, things that take me back to my childhood. Maybe it’s that I miss those days. Maybe it’s that those days are now, too. For my first post, I’m going to start off with an obsession of mine that I’ve had for the better part of my life.

There’s the chore. Doing the laundry. It’s an endless and often thankless job that I put off as much as possible. I’ll even feign deafness when the dryer buzzer goes off, just to convince myself that I don’t need to get up. But like a load of other stuff, there’s always a relief when I go through with it. Plus, there’s the added benefit of wearing warm boxers. Oh, how wonderful!

Published in: on July 9, 2008 at 4:47 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://treatwithhappiness.wordpress.com/2008/07/09/fresh-out-of-the-dryer/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

